Week 5 Entry

(Critical) – from your preliminary reading give a brief description of the kind of woman Cressida is.

From what I have come to learn so far, I do not particularly feel sorry for Cressida’s character. I feel as though she is a very self absorbed women who is subject to change her mind without much regard for others. I think Cressida is very aware of the physical nature of love, however although she is passionately involved with Troilus, she seems extremely flighty and fickle. She ever so dramatically breaks down after being separated from Troilus and yet only days later is in bed with another man. I think Cressida is aware of her persona of being an object. Her instability and inconsistent nature makes her a perfect tool for demonstrating Shakespeare’s ideas of love and marriage.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Hey there,

    I completely agree, that’s the same idea that crossed my mind on what Cressida was like. This whole fickle but deeply emotional young girl style love. You idea of her representing Shakespeare’s version of love does seem to ring true as well.

    Keep Writing,
    Ash

    Reply
  2. Hi Steph,
    I chose to leave a comment on your blog this week, as I see we have chosen the same topic to blog about, but have taken different stand points. I don’t agree with your analysis of Cressida’s character. I agree, that yes, she does make some questionable choices but I think it is important to consider her life and what has led her to where she is. Her whole life she has been traded and exchanged and treated like an object. Her own perception of her self is determined by what the men in her life think of her. On the other hand, your blog was very well written, keep up the good work.

    Lesley

    Reply
  3. And what are your conclusions about Sh.’s view on marriage? That is a question really worth pursuing. A quote or two from the text would help your comment come alive Steph. and move it away from this rather general overview.
    MG

    Reply
  4. Instability, inconsistency, self-absorption – I think it would be fair to say these are fairly common characteristics to be found in young women not yet out of their teens, especially those who think they are in love. You have observed some great insights about Cressida, Steph, but do these make her fickle? I think when we consider her tender age and limited life experience, she does not seem such a heartless man-eater after all. As Shakespeare says: Love, friendship, charity, are subjects all/To envious and calumniating time (3.3).
    Naomi

    Reply
  1. Peer Review on Steph’s Blog « Lesley Mitchell
  2. PEER REVIEW #4 – STEPH MARSDEN | anthonyscaltrito

Leave a comment